Key principles of the Mental Capacity Act (MCA) 2005

Tools to highlight and explain the five statutory principles of the MCA: presume capacity; take practicable steps to support capacity; respect unwise decisions; act in the person’s best interests; look for less restrictive options.

Panel recommendations

Social Care Institute of Excellence (SCIE)

Alzheimer’s Society

British Institute of Learning Disabilities (BILD)

Birmingham South Central CCG

Devon County Council

Social Care Institute of Excellence (SCIE)

South Gloucestershire Council

Shropshire Council