Understanding common induction


This resource is for anyone interested in induction in social care. You may be about to enter the sector, or you may be a trainer or a manager overseeing induction. You may be a service user or carer with an interest in the quality of care. Whatever angle you are coming from, this resource provides an explanation of the Common Induction Standards (CIS) produced by Skills for Care.

The induction process is a means of preparing social care workers for the work they will be doing. CIS covers a range of areas such as personal development, duty of care and safeguarding. The aim is to provide a comprehensive overview of what a care or support worker should know and be able to do.

CIS applies to all adult social care in England. If you work in Northern Ireland, Wales or Scotland the outcomes are set out differently, but the aim remains the same.

Here are the eight areas covered by CIS:

  1. Role of the health and social care worker
  2. Personal development
  3. Communicate effectively
  4. Equality and inclusion
  5. Principles for implementing duty of care
  6. Principles of safeguarding in health and social care
  7. Person-centred support
  8. Health and safety in an adult social care setting

You can find and print a copy of CIS on the Skills for Care website.

As a care or support worker you are expected to complete the eight ‘standards’ within 12 weeks of starting work in social care. Some people may need all this time (and perhaps more) while others may need less time. This should be discussed with your manager as they will have to sign to say you have met the learning outcomes. The manager’s role is key as they must ensure you are able to work appropriately. You should keep a record of your learning to prove that you are prepared. This record is sometimes known as ‘evidence of achievement’. It is important to note that Common Induction Standards are not a ‘qualification’; however, they can help you to work towards a Level 2 Diploma in Health & Social Care.

Did you know?

Providers of social care services are regulated by the:

  • Care Quality Commission (CQC) in England
  • Regulation and Quality Improvement Authority (RQIA) in Northern Ireland
  • Care and Social Services Inspectorate (CSSIW) in Wales.

People who work in health and social care services are regulated by the:

  • Health & Care Professions Council (HCPC) in England
  • Northern Ireland Social Care Council (NISCC) in Northern Ireland
  • Care Council for Wales in Wales.

Social care workers are not currently required to register in England but in Northern Ireland they must register with the Northern Ireland Social Care Council (NISCC).

In Wales, the following groups of workers must currently register with the care council for Wales:

  • People who hold a social work qualification or call themselves a social worker
  • Students participating on an approved social work degree course in Wales
  • Residential child care managers and workers.
  • Adult care home managers