Skip to content

What are the six principles of safeguarding?

First introduced by the Department of Health in 2011, but now embedded in the Care Act, these six principles apply to all health and care settings.

1. Empowerment

People being supported and encouraged to make their own decisions and informed consent

2. Prevention

It is better to take action before harm occurs.

3. Proportionality

The least intrusive response appropriate to the risk presented.

4. Protection

Support and representation for those in greatest need.

5. Partnership

Local solutions through services working with their communities. Communities have a part to play in preventing, detecting and reporting neglect and abuse.

6. Accountability

Accountability and transparency in safeguarding practice.