Skip to content

Key Care Act principles for assessment and determination of eligibility

The Care Act 2014 sets out local authorities’ duties when assessing people’s care and support needs.

This resource supports care practitioners and answers their questions about assessment and determination of eligibility under the Care Act. It also provides practical guidance over what they should do when applying the letter and spirit of this law.

For brevity and simplicity, throughout this resource the term ‘assessment under the Care Act’ is used to refer to either a Care Act assessment of:

  • an individual’s needs for care and support
  • a carer’s needs for support.

Which Care Act principles apply to the assessment under the Care Act and determination of eligibility?

Woven through the tapestry of the Care Act, there are eight fundamental principles, which you as a social care practitioner should be able to see in your practice when undertaking an assessment and determining eligibility.

  1. Strengths-based approach
  2. Transparency
  3. Whole family/holistic
  4. Maximise person’s involvement
  5. Recognise fluctuating needs
  6. Promote individual choice and control
  7. Appropriateness
  8. Proportionality.

Adhering to these principles will enable you to ensure that your practice is person-centred and working towards the key legal duty of promoting individual wellbeing. See below for further information that will help you incorporate these principles into your practice.