Understanding common induction in social care

SCIE last updated our resource ‘Understanding Common Induction’ in November 2012. The version of this resource has now been removed as the Common Induction Standards were replaced by the Care Certificate on 1 April 2015. A new CQC regulatory framework was also introduced at the same time.

The Care Certificate is an agreed set of standards that define the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected of specific job roles in the health and social care sectors.

The Care Certificate is made up of the 15 minimum standards that should be covered if you are 'new to care' and should form part of a robust induction programme.  It was developed jointly by Skills for CareHealth Education England and Skills for Health

SCIE provides a Care Certificate e-learning course covering the Knowledge element of the Care Certificate.

SCIE also provides a range of resources on safeguarding adults, including a section on key concepts of safeguarding adults.

Care Certificate standards

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way             
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

Useful resources