Induction Standards for Northern Ireland

Standard 4: Communicate effectively

The standard is divided into the following three parts:

  1. Encourage communication
  2. Use communication techniques
  3. The principles of good record-keeping.


Standard 4 covers the area of communication, both with the people you care for and their families, as well as your colleagues and other professionals. It looks at different types of communication as well as the related area of confidentiality. When communication breaks down, problems always follow.

If you are employed directly to support someone in their own home, how do you think this standard applies to you? The majority of people who work in care tend to do so because they find it rewarding and they want to make a difference. Whether you have worked in care for a long time or only recently started it is important to take time to reflect on how you practice in your role. This can be done in supervision and also by taking time to step back from your daily tasks.

One of the areas for reflection is how we communicate with others. We use communication to establish relationships with people whether personal or professional.