Induction Standards for Northern Ireland

Standard 6: Develop as a worker

This standard is divided into the following two parts:

  1. Support and supervision
  2. Knowledge and skill development.


The majority of people who work in care tend to do so because they find it rewarding and they want to make a difference. Whether you have worked in care for a long time or only recently started it is important to take time to reflect on how you practise in your role. This can be done in supervision and also by taking time to step back from your daily tasks. (This is known as reflective practice)

Standard 6 looks at your own role: whether you understand the main duties and responsibilities that are required and whether you can review how well you are doing in transferring your knowledge into practice.

The standard also involves reflective practice, which is a way of thinking about what you do on an ongoing basis. It involves thinking about your work, learning how to work more effectively and recognising how you are developing.

You can do this by getting support from people around you such as colleagues and your manager or supervisor. You can make use of formal supervision to identify opportunities to learn and make a plan for your personal development and continuing learning.

If you are employed directly to support someone in their own home, how might you seek the opportunity for supervision and think about how you would like, or need to develop?