Induction Standards for Northern Ireland

Standard 1: Understand the principles of care

This standard is divided into the following four parts:

  1. The values
  2. Confidentiality
  3. Person-centred approaches
  4. Risk assessment.


Standard 1 covers the principles and values of social care. Good practice in social care isn’t just about doing things well or having the right knowledge; it also involves having good attitudes towards people. Think about this in terms of how you would like care staff to treat you. The right approach to working in social care involves having what we call a good ‘value base’.