Community-based day activities and supports for people with learning disabilities

Contacts for practice examples

(Key ingredients)

Area: 1 Grapevine Coventry Contact: Clare Wightman Director - Grapevine 02476 631041, grapevine.the@talk21.com Example of: People with learning disabilities in leading positions, with control over developments. Comment: Also community connecting work e.g. community activities hosted by Grapevine as step to integration: community litter picks, summer festival and arts events.

Area: 3 Wellington Community Enablement Project, Somerset Contact: Sally Hill Community Enablement Project & CHI Centre Tel: 01823 665506 sallyhill@chinternational.org.uk Example of:Community development through community café concept, and development of new staff roles

Area: 3 Essex employment services Contact: Brian Gregory Employment & Lifelong Learning Manager 01245 493622 Brian.gregory@essexcc.gov.uk Example of: Integrated network of job clubs, training cooperatives and supported employment Comment: Also a first wave In Control pilot site

Area: 6 Southampton Contact: Sue Harris Manager, Southampton Day Services Southampton City Council Tel: 023 8083 4608 sue.harris@southampton.gov.uk Example of: Partnership with Sport England to develop community centre for use by all

Area: 6 Pedal Power Cardiff, Wales Contact: Sybil Williams Manager Pedal Power Tel: 07974 121464 Sybil.Williams@bromor-tr.wales.nhs.uk Example of: Role of health staff in developing healthy living leisure opportunities

Area: 6 North Lanarkshire Contact: Morag Dendy DendyM@northlan.gov.uk Example of: Whole systems, person-centred approach to changing provision

Area: 7 Thurrock Council day services Contact: Neil Woodbridge Service manager for Community Services Tel: 01375 413707 nwoodbridge@thurrock.gov.uk Example of: Use of staff as personal assistants for people with higher support needs.

Area: 7 and 8 London borough of Newham Contact: Ann Lloyd Integrated Commissioning Manager 0208 430 2000 ann.lloyd@newham.gov.uk Example of: Multi-media work; inclusion team; development of supported employment network Comment: Also an In Control pilot site

Area: 9 Positive Futures Team Nottingham Contact: Jim Broughton Easy Information coordinator Tel: 0115 934 9566 info@ pfhlc.org.uk Example of: People with learning disabilities producing easy read information

Area: 9 Better Days Newcastle Contact: Lesley Mountain Better Days Tel: 0191 281 5541 better-days@lineone.net Example of: People with learning disabilities training staff in community settings & services

Area: 10 Orchardville society, Belfast Contact: Alan Thomson info@orchardville.com www.orchardville.com Example of: Vocational training, job support and employment related services Comment: Transition programme offers every school leaver with a learning disability 3 job tasters

Area: 13 South Gloucestershire Contact: Kathy Mackay Head of Joint Learning Disabilities Service. Tel: 01454 866343 Kathy.Mackay@southglos.gov.uk Example of: Achieving integrated leisure opportunities Comment: Also a first-wave In Control pilot site

Area: 13 Alumwell Project Walsall Contact: Karen Garbutt Day Service Modernisation Manager Walsall MBC Tel: 01922 636215 garbuttk@walsall.gov.uk Example of: Partnership with Resident’s Association to develop a community centre open to all

Area: 13 Alumwell Project Walsall Contact: Chris Ainge Leicester city council Tel: 0116 221 2732 Chris.ainge@leic.gov.uk Example of: Commissioning of a Sikh community association to provide a service for people with learning disabilities

Area: 13 Maidenhead & Windsor Contact: Cindy Blackman Windsor & Maidenhead Day Services Manager Tel: 01753 833654 Example of: Creation of multi-sensory room and accessible changing facilities at leisure centre, for benefit of all community Comment: Also, partnership with local girls school to develop a buddy scheme

Key Tasks

Area: 1 Listening To Us Essex Contact: Ryan Jones Service Manager Listening to Us 01245 392050/392051 ListeningToUs@mencap.org.uk Example of: People with learning disabilities working in paid positions with power and influence

Area: 2 HILT Hackney, East London Contact: John Cahill Hackney Independent Living Team Tel: 0208 985 5511 john@hilt.org.uk Example of: Use of multi-media to enhance communication and individualised planning

Area: 2 Pure Innovations, Stockport Contact: Doug Cresswell Chief Executive 0161 474 5900 Doug.cresswell@pureinnovations.co.uk Example of: Service that moved out from local authority. Comment: Lots of examples of projects where people do things of value to community

Area: 3 Norfolk council day services Contact: Sarah Stock Manager, Community Support Team Sarah.Stock@norfolk.gov.uk Example of: Community-based service for people with complex needs Comment: Innovative use of mobility benefits for transport

Area: 3 Stratford, Warwickshire Contact: Sue Courtney Day Service Manager Tel: 01789 269178 Sue.courtney@warwickshire.gov.uk Example of: Managing staff time to achieve evening support Comment: Also hiring out rooms at reduced rate to community groups in exchange for free places.

Area: 3 Garstang Deanery Project Scotforth Lancs Contact: Sheron Hall Coordinator Garstang Deanery Project Tel: 01524 843135 sheron.hall@bsrgrassroots.org Example of: Partnership with Blackburn diocese to provide individualised community opportunities

Area: 3 Shaw Trust, Bromley Contact: Amanda Lewis Projects Manager Tel: 0208 998 0067 Example of: Transfer of staff into new organisation and roles

Area: 3 and 6 Shropshire Contact: Adrian Johnson Operations Manager Adult Learning disabilities Community services Shropshire CC Tel: 01743 254003 adrian.johnson@shropshire-cc.gov.uk Example of: Use of Local Authority capital funding to achieve community bases and accessible changing places Comment: A large rural area

Area: 5 Nottingham city Contact: Martin Jackaman Day Service Modernisation Manager Nottingham city Tel: 0115 915 1077 Martin.Jackaman@nottinghamcity.gov.uk Example of: Development of accessible changing places in community spaces

Area: 6 &10 Waltham Forest, East London Contact: Kalwant Panesar Community Day Services Manager Watham Forest Tel: 0208 496 2706 Kalwant.panesar@walthamforest.gov.uk Example of: Community day service for Asian women Comment: Monitoring of community-based support

Area: 7 Linkage Green, Mablethorpe Contact: Shelagh Price Manager, Linkage Green Tel: 01507 479305 bowlinggreen@freeuk.com (or Pauline Gibson, Operations Mngr) Example of: Community-based social enterprise involving people with higher support needs

Area: 7 Poole Contact: Philip Mason Adult Social Service Borough of Poole 01202 261017 p.mason@poole.gov.uk Example of: Partnership between Supported Employment Service and local Job Centre Plus

Area: 7 & 8 Norfolk Contact: Marcia Derbyshire Project Manager Tel: 01603 481139 marcia.derbyshire@norfolk.gov.uk Example of: Development of FE provision related to social enterprises and self-employment Comment: Developing innovative 'skills for the job’ curriculum accessing mainstream courses

Area: 7 & 8 Brandon Trust, Bristol Contact: Nick Fripp development manager nick.fripp@brandontrust.org Example of: Projects linked with local colleges and providing qualifications, funded through Learning and Skills Council.

Area: 8 Leicestershire Adult Learning Service Transitions Project Contact: Alison Doggett Leicestershire CC Tel:0116 267 0042 adoggett@leics.gov.uk Example of: Adult community learning opened up for people with high support needs

Area: 8 Mencap NOW project Contact: Steve Bailey 01206 210999 Example of: Time-limited accommodation with person-centred planning, accredited learning & support to achieve lifestyle of own choosing Comment: Main focus is on young people in transition years

Area: 9 Mencap Northern Ireland Contact: Louise McQuillan Mencap Northern Ireland 02890 492666 louise.mcquillan@mencap.org.uk Example of: People with learning disabilities working in paid positions with power and influence

Area: 10 Birmingham People First West Midlands Contact: Birmingham People First Telephone: 0121 678 8857 E-mail: pf@bvsc.org Example of: Mystery shopping